Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Selfbows

Old 12-08-2007, 09:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Selfbows

Anyone else build them or shoot them here. I've been building them and shooting them for about six or seven years now. I love the simplicity of them. I like making them as well. I wish I could say I've hunted with them exculsively since then but I haven't. I've only had one shot with my selfbows and unfortunatly hit him in the shoulder. Then watched him a month later sent trailing a doe. ... Them deer are tough.

Anyway I'm hoping to get out and get a doe with my bow this year.

I also am hunting with rivercane arrows and obsidian arrowheads all made by me.

Anyone else go primative?

Old 12-09-2007, 07:09 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Selfbows

I'll hack out a bow once and again, andonce in a verygreat while Iwill cut shoots for arrow shafts - with the price of shafts these days, I'll have to start doing that a lot more often -but I haven't gotten down to knapping stone heads yet.
Old 12-09-2007, 07:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

I found a guy online that offers slabcut preformed obsidian. All you have to do is pressure flake them. I wouldn't say its easy, but it sure beats doing it from scratch. I turned out some pretty nice heads that way. I actually just got some new material in a week or so ago.

Here are a couple pics of my stuff.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/JasonLester/100_3134sm.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/JasonLester/knives.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/JasonLester/Bows/100_2942.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v357/JasonLester/Bows/100_2904.jpg
Old 12-09-2007, 08:25 AM
Giant Nontypical

Nice! But really... you need to be more careful with your bows and quit slamming 'em in the car door. All bent up at the tips and everything... [8D]Good ol' gnarly, snarly, snakey osage.
Old 12-09-2007, 08:47 AM