Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Is my set up adequate for whitetail? >

Is my set up adequate for whitetail?

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Is my set up adequate for whitetail?

Old 10-24-2007, 07:19 PM

Default Is my set up adequate for whitetail?

I am new to bowhunting and am just now really learning the sport. Well I bought my arrows last year and because I was using a 55# recurve the guy sold me light arrows, 212 grain, because they would increase velocity and have flatter flight path. However I just discovered more mass is what really helps penetration, and I was wondering if it is irresponsible for me to continue hunting with these, I'm thinking about getting some 125 g stingers to go with them. And a buddy of mine has some old easton superlite xx75 2114 arrows which are heavier but I have no idea of there mass. should I switch to those, or will my arrows be sufficient?
Old 10-24-2007, 08:09 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Is my set up adequate for whitetail?

I know I wouldn't hunt with your setup. I would hunt at least a 500gr setup. And really would want a 550gr with yours. I suggest 2018 30" arrow with 125-150gr tip.

Old 10-24-2007, 08:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

I shoot 420gr from a 53lb recurve with no problems. Lots of trad hunters take whitetails with 400 grns.
Great flying arrow, sharp broadhead and hit them in the vitals = deed dear with passthru.
Only reason I would shoot heavier then 8 gr/lbfor deerwould beto quiet a noisy bow - but then I would not have a bow that required it.

Steve
Old 10-24-2007, 08:52 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

In my limited experience I've found that the heavier the arrow the more forgiving the set up is.
Old 10-25-2007, 05:43 AM