Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

nocking point

Old 08-08-2007, 07:31 PM
Typical Buck

Default nocking point

hey guys, I have a hoyt 50# recurve and just got a new serving put on and I don't think the nock is in the right place. where should I set the nock for shooting a tab?
Old 08-08-2007, 07:41 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: nocking point

I'm new to this also, but what I have heard a good starting point is 1/2" above your rest. I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.
Old 08-08-2007, 07:41 PM
bigcountry

Anywhere from 0" to 0.7" over center. Do you have a bow square? Just bare shaft tune it, or have someone watch your arrows to see.

Old 08-08-2007, 07:45 PM
Typical Buck

well I bare shaft tuned these new shafts and they were great. shot right where I aimed at 10 yards and no kick left right up or down, then I got the bright idea to replace the serving b/c it was worn from last year. bad idea, should have done that first. by the way the arrows I found to fly great are full length 3555 gold tips, a 100 grain brass insert, 100 grain head, and 5 inch feathers. the shafts by themselves flew like darts. now if I can get this nocking point down.

are most of you using a nock or string nock? if you use the string what and where do I get it from?
Old 08-08-2007, 07:49 PM
bigcountry

I use some fine serving. I used to use brass nocks.

Old 08-08-2007, 08:25 PM
Typical Buck

I have heard if you shoot 3 fingers underneath you should use a string nock and not a brass nock. Once again, I maybe wrong!!
Old 08-09-2007, 06:43 AM
Giant Nontypical

Brass nocks will mess up a glove pretty good. I prefer tie ons below and above. Most of my bows are about 3/8-1/2" above 90 degrees.
Old 08-09-2007, 06:09 PM
Nontypical Buck