Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Trad Bow for small game >

Trad Bow for small game

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Trad Bow for small game

Old 02-23-2007, 08:12 PM
Fork Horn

Default Trad Bow for small game

I have been hunting for 12 years now everything legal to hunt in MN except bear and moose. i love squirrle rabbit, grouse huntin, but was getting boring. i started with a Reminton 870 20ga for bunnies, and a Remington .22 541T HEAVY BARRLE 4-12x40 Nikon, then i switched to single shot Remington model 33 .22 for squirrles,bunnies,and grouse, well last weekend i got to shoot a Fred Bear Super Mag 48@ 45lbs and a 60" long bow@ 50lbs it had been a long time 10yrs since i had shot a no sights recurve or longbow, but i was shooting softball sized groups a 25yrds now i think i got the bug, plus while i was shooting it hit me using a trad bow for smallgame would be one hell of of a challenge.

pat

i have also hunted small game with a .44cal cap and ball revalvor (spelling)
Old 02-24-2007, 02:17 PM

Default RE: Trad Bow for small game

It sure is a blast
Old 02-24-2007, 07:53 PM
Fork Horn

I like to rabbit hunt with my Bear Cub...
Old 02-25-2007, 03:55 PM
Fork Horn

stupid me i never asked my question. What kind of bow should i get a longbow or recurve? I know I don't need a 50 pound. Should i make my own arrows or get aluminum or carbon. what type of field points do i use, and how do blunts work on smallgame?

pat
Old 02-25-2007, 05:36 PM