Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Bighorn Recurve

Old 09-27-2006, 07:14 AM
Spike

Default Bighorn Recurve

I am looking at getting a used Big Horn recurve, has anyone heard of this one? I would like to hear some opinions, I am a newbie I'm talking brand new into bow hunting and would like to go with a trad bow.

Thanks
Old 09-27-2006, 08:20 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Bighorn Recurve

Their reputation is good. I think Fred Asbell founded the company, but sold it 15 years or so ago. I've shot one only once. It stacked like a mother, but shot okay. The nicest bow I've shot, other than those I've made, was a Great Northern. It was sweeeeet!
Old 09-27-2006, 08:46 AM
Spike

Thanks for the info, how long have you been making bows? I've looked at some sites that have build alongs, how do you pattern your risers?
Old 09-27-2006, 01:09 PM
Fork Horn

I had one several years back. Mine was a 66" 66# Custom Take Down. I liked it a lot, but over the years arthritis in the shoulders got the best of me and I could no longer shoot it, so I sold it. I took a couple nice bucks with it and shot it a lot. I looked at getting some lighter limbs for it, but the limbs were going to be more than what I paid for the bow when I bought it new. So, now I shoot a 50 lb. Hickory self-bow....nothing fancy, but it serves the purpose.
Old 09-27-2006, 03:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

I had a 56" t/d recurve,58#@26".Beautiful bow! had osage limbs,was plenty fast and very accurate.had to get rid of it because the weight was a bit much.I'd get another if the right one came along.
Old 09-28-2006, 07:02 AM
Giant Nontypical

Bighorns are very popular at our club. There was a running jokethat if you didn't shoot traditional and own at least one Bighorn, you weren't really a true member. [8D]