Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Longbow or Recurve?

Old 08-24-2006, 06:03 AM

Default Longbow or Recurve?

Hi! folks just wondering if anyone had any personal suggestions on this matter? I am kind of new to traditional archery; and like to hunt still and tree stand. Which would be better? Which is most accurate and forgiving in shot placement from a stand or heavy cover?

Thanks a Heap!
Holler critter
Old 08-24-2006, 07:20 AM

Default RE: Longbow or Recurve?

I've shot both and I prefer the recurve, I would start with a 58 to 62" BOW , they are more stable, forgiving, and you will have far less hand shock.
Old 08-24-2006, 07:27 AM

You'll find adherents on both sides. I like a longbow. It is simple. The modern hybrids are fast and accurate. Oh, and they are lighter. I have a McCullough Griffin longbow that is 60" long and 59 @ 29. It is fast. I wouldn't trade it for any recurve or any other longbow for that matter no matter how much they cost.

You need to shoot some recurves and longbows and decide for yourself what you like. Hopefully, you will develop a passion for a particular bow and that will mean a lot to your shooting and your confidence.

A book that I think is an absolute gem that will teach you to shoot instinctively in short order is Instinctive Archery Insights by Jay Kidwell. It's the best.
Old 08-24-2006, 07:54 AM

Thanks for the Helpful information!

I am already shooting an old Bear recurve(45#amo 60 inches);that I purchased at a garage sale,I think though that the limbs may be a little twisted. My groupings are fair but still some what off at about 20 yards.
If I do decide to switch to a longbow are they difficult to handle in a tree stand or heavy cover? I am a short person in size about 5"4 inches with a I think about 26 inch draw. Would a longbow still work or should I stay with a recurve? Any suggestions or comments welcome!

Thanks a Bunch!
Holler critter
Old 08-24-2006, 08:10 AM
bigcountry