Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Too can't or not to can't >

Too can't or not to can't

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Too can't or not to can't

Old 08-06-2006, 01:16 PM

Default Too can't or not to can't

Hi All,

I want to shoot traditional as possible and trying to shoot instinctive and I really don't like rests either very much, is canting your bow better for this or shooting vertical. I have shoot recurves before and I love them, I don't really like compounds bows. Also, I am just starting out again, recurve or longbows, TD or one piece, and lastly which entry level bow for under $ 200.00. Sorry for so many questions, I did ask which bow lastime, but I can't views my msgs for some reason. Thanks again and HH.

Joey
Old 08-06-2006, 02:54 PM

Default RE: Too can't or not to can't

Ok, I'll bite...
Cant v. No Cant- Most of trad archery is feel, so like most other things, its what feels right to you. I feel best with a hard cant into my longbow, but a softer can with a 'curve...
Longbow v. Recurve- Your personal preference. What are you looking for in a bow?
T/D v. One Piece- Again, preference...If you will travel alot, T/D, other than that, its all what feels best to you.
Under $200- To my knowledge, there are only two bows under $200; aPSE Impala Recurve, and Legacy 66" Longbow (Cabelas has them both). You may want to look at the classifieds.

Good luck and keep the questions coming...
Old 08-07-2006, 07:07 AM
Giant Nontypical

I use a slight cant (about 12:30 to 1 ocloclk), just enough to get a good look at the target. I used to use more, but find that I get a little better feel forback tension when the bow is less canted.
Old 08-07-2006, 09:14 AM
bigcountry

I think I have found, it depends on you, and what you want. Depends on anchor point, face shape, head tilt, back tilt.