Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Time to go Trad

Old 07-20-2006, 08:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Time to go Trad

Well, as of today I'm going traditional. I drew a tag for a great recurve only hunt in McAlister, OK (first weekend in november). I'm really new to the whole idea. I need to buy a bow ASAP (probably 55-60# at 28-29" draw). I have some GT ultralight pro 400's, would these be sufficient? I plan on shooting Magnus Stinger broadheads. Anyway, like I said I'm pretty new so any advice or anyting you all have to offer... I'm wide open to it. Thank you
Old 07-20-2006, 08:50 AM

Default RE: Time to go Trad

how long until that hunt ? have you ever shot trad before ?
Old 07-20-2006, 09:06 AM
Dominant Buck

I wouldn't go higher than 55# on your first trad bow , regardless of what weight compound you shoot now it isn't the same . Could you even become proficient with it in that short a time ? I started with a loaner 35# and shot for a year before I went up to a 50# of my own , and shot that for 6 months before trying to hunt with it . If you add a sighting system you might be able to trim that back a bit , but don't expect the consistancy that you've become accustomed to with your compound . Form will be critical , you should find another trad shooter to coach you before you think about hunting . I had to do the self taught route and I don't reccomend it . Your arrows don't sound like they're properly spined for the bow you're thinking of , buy some that are .
Old 07-20-2006, 09:36 AM
Nontypical Buck

Yes I've shot traditional setups before, I've just never hunted with one (and don't have one of my own). I have plenty of time to become proficient, I shoot every day (literally), and have a couple of guys that areaccomplished traditional shooters that I shoot with. And, If for some reason I'm not proficient or I don't feel comfortable I simply won't hunt and I'll video or take pictures.