Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Need a heavy arrow for hunting...advice >

Need a heavy arrow for hunting...advice

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Need a heavy arrow for hunting...advice

Old 12-30-2005, 01:01 PM

Default Need a heavy arrow for hunting...advice

I'm new to traditional hunting and need some arrow advice. I shoot a 45# Wing recurve but have about a 29-30 inch draw so I think I am closer to 48-50 lbs. I would like to shoot a carbon arrow so that I do not have the hassle of worrying about straightness, sealing wood, etc. especially since I m just starting.
With a light draw weight, it makes sense to shoot a heavier arrow. I have some 125 grain Woodsman broadheads on a 23 grain insert that I can use.
Withfeathers, does anyone know of a heavy carbon arrow that would be suitable for this set-up? Maybe I should think about aluminum? If you could recommend a spine to start with that would be great too. I have everything I need to work with carbon because I've shot compounds for years so that's why carbon is in my head.
I like this site because of the practical experience of those of you who post. Thanks in advance for any info.
Old 12-30-2005, 01:28 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Need a heavy arrow for hunting...advice

Hmmm.... Let me ponder that question for a microsecond or two...(The guys who have been around a long time already know what I'm gonna say.[8D])

Carbon Express Terminator Select, size 4560. Carbon/fiberglass composite. Much better as far as straightness, weight and spine consistency than ICS carbons in the same price range. I've also found them to be incredibly durable, much moreso than all-carbons are.

The black Terminators will weigh about 440 grains at 30" with 125 gn tips and 5" feathers. The camo Terminator Hunters set up the same will run around 485 grains. Add 23 gns for the screw-in inserts in your Woodsmans.