Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 need help with carbons >

need help with carbons

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

need help with carbons

Old 11-21-2005, 10:52 PM

Default need help with carbons

I am new to carbon arrows. I need to add 100 grains to my arrows to get 8 grains per pound of bow weight. Has anyone used the weight tubes? I am figuring you cut them the length of your shaft minus the length of the insert and just glue the insert in to hold it in place. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 11-22-2005, 07:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: need help with carbons

ccarp00, carbons from trad bows are a different animal. Before we can go further, could you please post the weight and draw length of what type of bow you are shooting (and how centercut the shelf is if you know) and what carbon arrows you are planning on trying?
Old 11-22-2005, 10:26 AM

This may sound crazy, but I use silicon. take the tip off and take the nock out and shoot the silicon right down the shaft until its full completely. It adds weight but doesn't change the spine, all my arrows fly great after doing it. I am pulling 56-57lbs and my arrows with inserts knocks tips weight in at around the high 300grns after putting the silicon in them they jumped up to the low 500's and I noticed a dramaticdecrease in bow noise, arrows are slower but speed doesn't kill even when I shot compound I hatedall therage about speed. The weight tubes are good but they only come in 1 or 2gpi so if you are like me and have 31" arrows the most you will add with the tubes is 62gpi to your arrows if thats enough then go with the tubes.
Old 11-22-2005, 10:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

Are you sure that the silicon won't eventually break down the arrow?
Old 11-22-2005, 12:04 PM