Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Newbie to traditional archery.  Have a few Questions. >

Newbie to traditional archery. Have a few Questions.

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Newbie to traditional archery. Have a few Questions.

Old 06-14-2005, 12:41 PM
Typical Buck

Default Newbie to traditional archery. Have a few Questions.

Haven't paid much attention to this forum since I joined this sight but I've already seen some good info on here. First of all I've been bowhunting for about 7 years now with a compound so I'm not new to bowhunting. I have an old Red Wing Hunter 42lb recurve that was my dad's from 8th grade. I have the proper arrows, string, everything for it and I've toyed around with shooting it the past two summers. Last year I got to where I could get a moderately good group at 20 yards but not good enough for me to want to take it hunting. I want to be confident in my shot. Now, I'm a good shot with a compound but I would love to get better with the recurve....I love shooting it!! Can you all give me any advice with getting better (other than practice....already know it's going to take a lot of practice!)??

Also, I'm sure there's a good book or two on how to shoot a recurve. What would you recommend? Something by Byron Ferguson? Thanks!
Old 06-14-2005, 01:05 PM

Default RE: Newbie to traditional archery. Have a few Questions.

Welcome aboard...... I'm just getting started myself... I bought my first longbow back in April... I've read lots of books..... Become the Arrow by Byron Ferguson was great and a must read....I would suggest visiting several traditional websites and forums... You can learn alot is a month or two of solid research!!!
Old 06-14-2005, 08:18 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett