Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Still hunting question >

Still hunting question

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Still hunting question

Old 09-20-2002, 12:30 PM

Default Still hunting question

I’ve been reading that still hunting involves moving very slowly through known deer habitat while stopping every few steps to thoroughly survey the immediate area for deer using your naked eye and binoculars. The articles that I have read stress making your movements as slow and natural as possible to avoid detection as a predator. My question is this: What do you do with your bow when you are glassing the surrounding area? It seems to me that dropping your bow on the ground and then picking it up again every time you use your binoculars would make you unnecessary vulnerable to visual detection. I don’t know that for sure as I am new to hunting, but I am curious how others, who are more experienced, handle this.
Old 09-20-2002, 02:29 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 09-20-2002, 04:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Still hunting question

The object of still-hunting is to see the deer before they see you.If you're jumping deer out ahead of you,you're moving to fast.Slow the approach,stop and pick apart every bit of terrain.When you see a part of the deer-and most times that is all you will see-then plan your stalk.It can be tough but it can also be a very effective way to kill a deer.Also check your back trail once in awhile for any that may have gotten around you.
Old 09-20-2002, 05:53 PM
Fork Horn

There is no "formula" for still-hunting. It's about being absolutely aware. Read that line again.