Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 What do I check for before I use my carbons >

What do I check for before I use my carbons

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

What do I check for before I use my carbons

Old 02-26-2005, 03:52 PM
Dominant Buck

Default What do I check for before I use my carbons

Sorry for the silly question but I'm new to shooting carbons. I'm using a standard riser Darton compound set at about 60lbs. I just bought a dozen terminator carbonsWhat should I look for before shooting these lightening fast arrows? They are the best arrows I've ever shot.
Chuck
Old 02-26-2005, 04:02 PM
pah

Default RE: What do I check for before I use my carbons

Check for any nicks or cracks along the entire length of the shaft, especially after shooting a tight goup and slamming arrows together. With the factory nocks if you shoot one off it will probably crack the end of the shaft.
Old 02-26-2005, 05:09 PM

I like to twist and bend mine at the same time to see if I can hear anything ie. cracking sound. If I hear it I won't shoot it without someone else checking it as well. Better safe than sorry you don't want one blowing up on you.
Old 02-26-2005, 06:00 PM
Dominant Buck

How can one blow up on you ? I'm only shooting the old Fred Bear type bow.
Chuck
Old 02-26-2005, 06:03 PM

ORIGINAL: Chuck7

How can one blow up on you ? I'm only shooting the old Fred Bear type bow.
Chuck
Only? Hey, don't kid yourself! Those are great shooters. Actually, it's not uncommon to have one explode. They develop weak spots, like, after they've been hit together several times, rocks , trees, anything. If they have a split that goes unoticed, they can, and will explode upon release. Remeber that the arrow flexes upon release, and all it needs is a weakspot to exploit.
Old 02-27-2005, 04:05 AM
Dominant Buck