Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 arrow help.. (newbie) >

arrow help.. (newbie)

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

arrow help.. (newbie)

Old 01-10-2005, 11:16 AM

Default arrow help.. (newbie)

i am new to bowhunting and have some questions...

what does it mean to bare tune a bow..?

how do you know what arrow length to shoot..?

should i use the same arrow (type, weight, length, ect.) to hunt with as i practice with.

PSE Nova
29 in.
60#

i was looking for some arrows to practice with, but it got confussing with all the weights and length of the arrows. thanks in advance for all the help.
Old 01-10-2005, 01:14 PM

Default RE: arrow help.. (newbie)

Ok, I assume you are talking about bare shaft testing. This is where you shoot an arrow without any fletchings on it and compare the impact point to the same arrow with fletchings on it. This is normally a way to test and see how close you are to having the proper spine arrows for your set up. This test is more effective for finger shooters, but can work well for a release shooter as well. It is sort of an advanced test for someone that is a decent shot already. This test would be hard to perform accurately if you you didn't have good form or couldn't not shoot that consistantly to begin with. It is sort of like paper tuning but takes things a bit farther in my opinion.

Download eastons Tuning Guide off from thier site. It has plenty of information on both of these tuning methods, also plenty of stuff about arrows and what length to make them.