Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow recommendation for new kid >

Arrow recommendation for new kid

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow recommendation for new kid

Old 12-01-2004, 11:37 AM

Default Arrow recommendation for new kid

Hi all. I'm just getting started and have a question.

I've been given a bow to get started with, but all the arrows that came with it are basically trash, no fletching and/or nocks, some are bent, etc. The bow is an older Bear Whitetail Hunter, 30" draw, 46" axle-to-axle, and currently draw weight between 50-55 lbs. (based on what I can tell).

Since bow hunting season if over here in TX, I've got all year to practice, but I need something to practice with...arrows. From the looks of things, it appears that I need to get 30" shafts. But what type of arrow should I get? I know I need to focus on practice for now, so a nice general aluminum arrow will suffice. Any suggestions? The cheaper the better, but still allowing for good consistency. I also picked up a set of 125 gr field points yesterday, if that helps.
Old 12-01-2004, 11:44 AM

Default RE: Arrow recommendation for new kid

Does the bow have an overdraw on it (the rest) if it does, you then can shoot a shorter arrow. If not you will need to cut the arrows at least 1"-1.5" past the draw length, if your bow is set at 30" then a 31.5" arrow should be it, but yet pre-cut arrows do not go past 30". I would suggest that you make sure that the draw length is correct for you, and get it all checked out, then decide what to do with it.

A decent Easton Aluminum Shaft like the Gamegetter II should do just fine, just pick the spine for amount of weight you plan on shooting, and the length.
Old 12-01-2004, 11:52 AM

It does not have a rest on it at the moment, but I'm trying to get one installed on it this week.