Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 feathers in the rain >

feathers in the rain

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

feathers in the rain

Old 10-13-2004, 04:19 PM
Typical Buck

Default feathers in the rain

This is my first year hunting with feathers. How does rain effect flight? Also is there something i can water proof them with?
Old 10-13-2004, 04:23 PM

Default RE: feathers in the rain

They sell a powder in Cabelas to use on feathers. I havent tried it but will when I get my feathers on my arrows. I would suggest just taking a plastic vaned arrow or two when hunting in wet weather. I would think that they would make some goose feather fletchings, then they would be totally waterproof for a while.
Old 10-13-2004, 04:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

no feathers for me just vanes, cant stand feathers.
Old 10-13-2004, 04:34 PM
Giant Nontypical

You're not likely to get a shot during a pouring rain, and even if you did the rain would wash away any blood trail and make it hard to find your deer. Not a good idea to take a shot in heavy rain, IMO.

So, slip a freezer bag over your feathers to keep them dry in the rain and wait it out.

If it's drizzling and misty, any good waterproofing agent will keep the feathers dry for an hour or so, at least. Keep one arrow handy and ready to shoot, but keep the rest of your arrows under plastic. Switch to a fresh one when your feathers start looking too wet. If you can keep that ready arrow under some kind of cover while you wait, you won't have to swap out very often.

I've used plain ol' Scotchguard for years. If it looks like rain, I'll spray my feathers the night before hunting and let them dry overnight.
Old 10-13-2004, 06:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Feathers?!