Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 need advice on arrows...grains per inch >

need advice on arrows...grains per inch

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

need advice on arrows...grains per inch

Old 06-22-2004, 11:55 PM

Default need advice on arrows...grains per inch

i'm still new at bowhunting so bare with me.......i'm getting some red head carbon supreme arrows.......i have 27 draw length back last bow season....my bow is set at 56 pound........what grain per inch do i need to get on my arrows.........they have three sizes shaft size 150...grains per inch 8.4...........shaft size 250 ...grains per inch 9.5.............shaft size 350......grains per inch 10.7 what arrow do i need to get........i'm going to be shooting 100 grain broadheads..........need help.........
Old 06-23-2004, 05:45 AM

Default RE: need advice on arrows...grains per inch

I don't know how that arrow's spine relates to your bow, but I alway try to get at least a 10% F.O.C. with a slightly stiff arrow. If your F.O.C. is too low, you can increase it by, using lighter fletching (feathers), heavier broadheads (this will reduce spine), or shorten your arrows (this will increase spine).
Old 06-23-2004, 06:14 AM
Giant Nontypical

The chart at the bottom of the page (I assume you're looking them up in the catalog) shows size 250 for your draw weight and length.

I hope you noticed the arrows come a full 32 1/2" long. You have to get them cut to length yourself.
Old 06-23-2004, 06:26 AM

i have a 27 in draw also and i am currently shooting goldtip xts at 26 1/2 in at about 63 lbs and they fly great. they are 8.2 grns per in. im using 4in vanes(3 fletch) with a 100 grn tip and my foc is about 11.75.now if i shot 3 fletch feathers it would be over 13 so i would have to go with like a 75 grn tip or add a arrow wrap first to get to 8---12.
Old 06-23-2004, 08:39 AM