Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

target

Old 04-09-2004, 02:49 PM

Default target

does anyone have or know of plans on how to build an archery target
thanks
Old 04-09-2004, 08:53 PM

Default RE: target

I have built one using celotex. I used 2 5ft. 2x6's for the top and bottom. then I cut the celotex in 1ft by 4ft pieces and stacked. Then used 1/2" all thread on the sides to compress the target. carboard also works good instead of celotex. I have been using it for 4 years and it is outside in the weather all year round. 9 sheets of celotex makes a 3ft by 4ft target.
Old 04-09-2004, 10:47 PM

I am building a target out of burlap seed bag and plastic grocery bags. It is 80% done and I have shot at it from 20 yards. The arrow stops quite well (doesn't go through) and so far the burlap hasn't been cut. I am going to stuff more sacks into it for a final product. By the way, the "Infinity Target" is stuffed with chopped up sleeping bags (?) and costs about 40 bucks. I have been shooting at it for about 3 months now and I really like it. I shoot between 60 nd 100 arrows a day, you do the math. It seems to be durable enough and after you think your wear is about done you can replace the cover for about 15 bucks.
My hunting buddy made a target from shrink wrap stuffed in a burlap seed bag he got from Home Depot dumpster (shrink wrap). I was impressed! It stopped his carbons with broad points and seemed to self heal (stuffing) but the burlap kinda got cut up. But the seed sack was free from our local ranch seed supplier. We are looking into the McKenizies for 3D's as we have lots of outdoor property to go shooting in. Gonna leave 'em out in the field until hunting season as we go shooting together every week. Same goes for our home mades. Good luck hope this helps.
Old 04-10-2004, 10:11 PM