Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow life

Old 04-06-2004, 11:43 AM

Default Arrow life

After all of the comments on Alum. vs Carbons i did some testing. I started shooting Bemans about 1 year ago. My buddy has been shooting carbon evolutions about 8 months. Another buddy has been shooting XX78 Super Slams for about 10-12 months. I checked all of the regular practice shafts for all of us (I shoot the most then the slams, and the evolutions are shot the least). My new shafts were +- .006 all shafts were within .009(2 were less then .006 out of 5 shafts). Carbon Evolutions new were within .004 now they are all within .007(1 was .0009 all others were .005-.007). And what do you know the Super Slams that started at .0015 were in between .005 and .015 (very bad) only two shafts were better then the carbons .009 a .006 and another .006. This is not an opinion this is actually testing of used shafts. Maybe its the super slams but i doubt it. I'm going to be testing some XX75 in about a week.
Old 04-06-2004, 12:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Arrow life

I wonder if measurable straightness tolerances can be correlated with spine tolerance, which I believe more directly affects shootability?

Any chance the aluminums can be put on a straightener to bring them back into spec? How bout the carbons?

For the record, I shoot the best of both worlds...
Old 04-06-2004, 12:25 PM

hmmmmmmmmmm

interesting
Old 04-06-2004, 12:34 PM

I agree Rangeball spine is very important.
Old 04-06-2004, 12:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

If JeffB were here, I'm positive he'd chime in something like this-

Specs, and their rank of importance-

1- SPINE. Spine must match as close as possible in order to get repeatable accuracy.

2- Weight.

3- Straightness.