Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Sight Pin

Old 01-05-2002, 07:54 AM

Default Sight Pin

HI,
I'm a newbie to the sport and left handed. My sight pin is not lined up with the centre of my arrow rest, its about a 1/2 inch to the right. Is this wrong, if I'm still hitting the Bullseye at 30 yards?
Thanks
Old 01-05-2002, 09:15 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Sight Pin

Yep, something's not right. The pin should be pretty closely aligned with the arrow as it sits on the rest. Give us some details about your setup: What arrows you have (length, size and tip weight), what bow you're shooting, what draw length and what draw weight, mechanical release or fingers.

Eyeball the string into alignment with the grooves in the cam(s) and down the center of the bow's handle. Then look at the arrow. If you're shooting release, the string should split the arrow from nock to point. If you're shooting fingers, the tip of the arrow should be just visible to the right of the string (for a southpaw).

If your arrows are properly matched to your bow and your centershot is set properly, then it would boil down to a shooting form problem, but let's go one step at a time and check the setup first.
Old 01-05-2002, 09:35 AM

Thanks for the reply; I'm shooting a Jenneing Buckmaster 2000s @55 lbs/28.5 inch draw with a mechanical release. My arrows are 100 grain Easton alum. XX75 2314 30 inches.
Thanks
Old 01-05-2002, 10:04 AM

I agree with Arthur that the pins should be in line the the centershot of the bow. There might be some slight differences cause by your anchor position like shooting with glasses vs. not, but not much. You do need to eliminate the bow setup problems first before working on form.
Old 01-05-2002, 12:13 PM
Giant Nontypical