Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Liberty - tuning advice >

Liberty - tuning advice

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Liberty - tuning advice

Old 02-08-2004, 06:03 PM
Fork Horn

Default Liberty - tuning advice

OK y'all I'm a tuning newbie so don't be too harsh on me ;-)

I managed to get out today to shoot my liberty a good bit. I seem to be having some contact with one of the feathers but I am still able to shoot good tight groups. This contact is enough to be putting some pretty good wear on the feather though and I would naturally prefer no contact at all. I shoot at 73# using 28" GT XP's using a Trophy Taker Shakey Hunter rest. The best I can tell they are making contact with the arrow holder that comes with the TT rest. The felt on there had tiny fragments of my orange feathers on it and the felt on the right edge of the arrow holder was also showing some wear. I shoot cock vane out. i am not sure if changing to cock vane up would help...it looks as though both of the other feathers would make contact then. Do you think I need to raise my nock set?
Old 02-08-2004, 06:06 PM

Default RE: Liberty - tuning advice

I too am having that same problem on my Liberty with the Shakey Hunter. Mine is tied into the cable slide, and I think that has a effect! I had my bow set-up and shooting great for almost a month, without any fletch contact at all, but when shooting today, I noticed the same thing. I am using duravanes and when shooting cock vane out, the bottom vane will "wrinkle" after the shot!

This week, I am gonna serve the TT into the down buss cable then get it tuned up!
Old 02-08-2004, 06:10 PM
Fork Horn

I am already served into the down cable. The rest comes up and good couple of inches before I reach my anchor point.
Old 02-08-2004, 06:11 PM