Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
New to archery...bow sight? >

New to archery...bow sight?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

New to archery...bow sight?

Old 08-10-2013, 10:28 PM
Spike

For anyone to say that a level on their sight is pointless knows nothing about tuning a bow. A level is needed if you want to stay consistent especially when shooting up hill, down hill, or even out of a tree stand.
Old 08-11-2013, 03:05 AM
Boone & Crockett

Jb - the gentleman already stated that he doesn't believe in tuning his bow in an earlier post. And he must be awful lucky with his set ups. I've been bow hunting for over 45 years and shooting a bow for a lot longer than that. And truthfully I never tuned either and shot deer, lots of deer with my bows. But about 7 or so years ago I started learning about tuning a bow and my accuracy and maximum lethal range has improved dramatically. And I never have to adjust my sights when I switch from FTs to BHs. As for the level, my sight has one but I do not use it and I still practice out to 70 yds using my lowest pin and still get good accuracy.
Old 08-11-2013, 07:02 AM
Fork Horn

I also think Form is a major factor. Someone with better form can get away with a lot more than someone with poor form. Hookeye may not need a level because he is always standing correct and has a perfect anchor point. I can directly tell how "lacking" my form is by my shots. Concentrate hard on getting my stance and frame correct and Im a much better shot.

Im a firm believer the bow is only 10% of the equation, the rest is shooter based.
Old 08-11-2013, 10:12 AM
Nontypical Buck