Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Poundage Question >

Poundage Question

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Poundage Question

Old 03-10-2013, 03:07 PM
Spike

Default Poundage Question

gday all,
Just a question on poundage with a compound. In australia at least where I'm from bow hunting is very small and there isnt a lot of info around so I've had to learn pretty much everything myself.
What I do hear though is that I'm undergunned with my poundage. I have a bear mauler at 26.5" DL and 62DW which I think is fine for red deer (a bit smaller than your elk for anyone who doesn't know them) but some people tell me I'm stupid to go out without 70lb DW and a bow doing 350fps IBO. I really don't agree with it because it doesnt feel right but I'm no expert so I was wondering if anyone had any advice?

Cheers,

SB
Old 03-10-2013, 03:38 PM
Spike

Keep your draw weight where it is. You could even back it off 10 pounds if you wanted to. Here in the 'States, minimum recommended draw weight for elk is 40 pounds.

More important than draw weight is that you are using sharp broadheads. I mean SCARY sharp. Do some research and find a good fixed blade broadhead. I'd stay away from mechanicals. But that's a topic for another thread...
Next would be practice. And then more practice. Probably ought to get some more practice while your at it. You can't kill what you can't hit.
Keep in mind that people were killing animals with bows long before arrow speed even approached 200fps. You'll be fine with your current set up.
Good luck and good hunting!!!
Old 03-10-2013, 03:53 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by outdooraddict
Keep your draw weight where it is. You could even back it off 10 pounds if you wanted to. Here in the 'States, minimum recommended draw weight for elk is 40 pounds.