Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Hushing up my bow! >

Hushing up my bow!

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Hushing up my bow!

Old 12-20-2009, 04:52 AM
Spike

Default Hushing up my bow!

I am a beginner bow hunter but I did harvest my first doe last week. What a rush! Anyways, one thing I noticed shooting in the woods is that my bow sounded loud. I have a PSE Nova SU, not the best but it works great for me. I have a vibration dampner and string silencers installed. What else will help eliminate sound to hush up my bow. I cant wait to go out again.

Thanks.
Old 12-20-2009, 06:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Alot of the stuff works for some folks but some of it seems like marketing to me.I was shooting naked string except for the loop and added some cat whiskers this year and am pleased with results.If you add to many little attachments it does slow string down,not much but still more junk to buy and slow it down.Look at the cat whiskers and cut them to about 1/2 dollar size diameter and see if that helps you.
Old 12-20-2009, 06:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

You have few options:

1. You can shoot a heavier arrow which absorb more of energy on the shot (kinda expensive).

2. You could look into the option of a string supressor. HNI's own MeanV makes a custom string supressor:

http://www.meanvarchery.com/index.html

3. Google and download the 'Easton Tuning Guide'. A well tuned bow will shoot quieter. Some of the info is a bit dated and some will debate the value of paper tuning. However, this guide is a good place to start learning about tuning.

4. It's best to have friend help evaluate your bow noise level because it always sounds louder to the shooter.

5. Congrats on your harvest.
Old 12-20-2009, 04:00 PM
Fork Horn