Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

arrow spine

Old 10-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Spike

Default arrow spine

what is the difference between the difference arrow spines? What size arrows do you recommend for my setup? I shoot a 2005 Bowtech Tomkat 28 inch draw length and set at 60#s. I'm new to bowhunting so any help is appreciated. I am shooting some beaman 340 ics hawks 28 inch arrows. not sure bout the arrow length though. thanks.
Old 10-03-2009, 07:11 PM
Fork Horn

BC...We need you!! Where are you oh great one????
Old 10-03-2009, 07:12 PM
bigcountry

Originally Posted by constant
what is the difference between the difference arrow spines? What size arrows do you recommend for my setup? I shoot a 2005 Bowtech Tomkat 28 inch draw length and set at 60#s. I'm new to bowhunting so any help is appreciated. I am shooting some beaman 340 ics hawks 28 inch arrows. not sure bout the arrow length though. thanks.
You really need a lighter spine for that setup. Something like .4" spine. Start at 30" and tune and then you can start cutting if they are too weak. But 30" should be perfect for your setup. Any less and you may be too stiff.

340's at 28 are way stiff unless you are shooting 200gr heads which I do.

Old 10-03-2009, 07:36 PM
Boone & Crockett

Arrow spine refers to how stiff the arrow is. To determine the spine a shaft is rested on two points 28 inches apart and a weight is hung from the center of that 28 inches. The amount of bend in the shaft determines the spine of the shaft.

A 300 spine arrow only flexes .3 inches where as a 500 spine arrow flexes a half inch. The more it flexes the weaker the spine.