Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
adjusting sight level >

adjusting sight level

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

adjusting sight level

Old 09-25-2009, 08:12 PM
  #1  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 141
Default adjusting sight level

Just wondering how you guys setup your sight levels? I have been shooting and had some weird arrow flight and noticed that the level is not right. When I have the level on my sight centered I torque my bow. What is the best way to find true level and adjust my sight so it is level? I am thinking about putting a level across the riser and checking what the level on my sight shows then putting shims between the top or bottom screws at the riser. Will this work or will that put my sights at an angle and shoot left or right at greater distances?

I guess it really depends on if the sight i ****ed or if the level is not in the sight correctly.

BTW its a Extreme Archery RT900 4-Pin

Thanks

Vince
tremolo is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:53 AM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 1,305
Default

I've tried using the level while aiming/shooting but I do just fine ignoring it.
Bernie P. is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 06:15 AM
  #3  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 141
Default

I have been using it for so long it now i feel like i torque the bow when i am really not it would just make me feel better being able to see it.
tremolo is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 07:55 AM
  #4  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Painesville, ohio
Posts: 486
Default

Originally Posted by tremolo View Post
Just wondering how you guys setup your sight levels? I have been shooting and had some weird arrow flight and noticed that the level is not right. When I have the level on my sight centered I torque my bow. What is the best way to find true level and adjust my sight so it is level? I am thinking about putting a level across the riser and checking what the level on my sight shows then putting shims between the top or bottom screws at the riser. Will this work or will that put my sights at an angle and shoot left or right at greater distances?

I guess it really depends on if the sight i ****ed or if the level is not in the sight correctly.

BTW its a Extreme Archery RT900 4-Pin

Thanks

Vince
if your site is on your bow, the level is right, if it appears to not be, you are torquing your bow. cool vid about proper grip to eliminate torque
live2Draw is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 04:20 PM
  #5  
Fork Horn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 141
Default

when i use the level i am shooting all over the place to the right and my sight is out of adjustment. If i draw and shoot with it feeling like it is level it shoots fine. I kinda have to twist my wrist to make it read level, so i dont think that it is right.
tremolo is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 05:34 PM
  #6  
Giant Nontypical
 
TFOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HENDERSON KY USA
Posts: 6,634
Default

You can shim the level/sight if there is not a 2nd axis adjustment to fit your style.Not the absolute best way to do it imo but is completely acceptable.Pull back on level ground and see if you are holding it level,you can set it to your cant if it makes you shoot better.
TFOX is offline  
Old 07-11-2011, 09:01 AM
  #7  
Spike
 
casey012293's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Beautiful Big Sky Montana
Posts: 48
Default

i have a black gold flashpoint hd off www.bugsnbullets.com (i love the micro adjust, best sight investment) which is an awesome sight but i had to check my level too. i made sure the bowstring was level in a bowvise and then set the sight level.
casey012293 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 05:43 AM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Adirondacks
Posts: 1,305
Default

I've since taken the level off.With the weight reduction I can carry the bow all day.
Bernie P. is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:44 AM
  #9  
Fork Horn
 
sixgunluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WV
Posts: 487
Default

"if your site is on your bow, the level is right" ummm not so much.


check out Hamskea Archery tool and do some searches on 3rd axis. A whole new world will open up to you and i'm sure you'll be shooting better in no time.

The RT 900 does not show a 2nd or 3rd axis adjustment so you'd have to shim for that.

Do some reading and grab a carpenters level.

I like the PSE Top Gun F-22 sight......it has the Axis adjustments.

Last edited by sixgunluvr; 08-19-2011 at 09:54 AM.
sixgunluvr is offline  
Old 09-02-2011, 05:32 AM
  #10  
Giant Nontypical
 
wis_bow_huntr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nekoosa Wi USA
Posts: 6,066
Default

I bought an Apex single pin lighted sight with a level on it and hated it with a passion. I would concentrate more on my level than my shooting form and where I was aiming. So I gave it to my brother.
wis_bow_huntr is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.