Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

QAD issues

Old 08-20-2008, 11:15 AM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
stikbow26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,241
Default QAD issues

Hey there guys I am having an issue with vane clearence any ideas?????? I am about to pull the last little bit I have left out. I am shooting a 101st at 70 pounds arrows are CX maximas wieght forward with blazers and I am shooting at 300 FPS with my hunting set up but I have tried spinning my vanes everyway possible but about every 5th arrow I will through one 4 inchs right and that is what got me to notice my vane was hitting. Any help would be greatly appricated!! Walt
stikbow26 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 11:35 AM
  #2  
Typical Buck
 
Sooner State Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 772
Default RE: QAD issues

Hey Walt, I'm probably not telling you anything you don't already know, but when I helped a buddy set up his 101st with a QAD, I had to tinker forever with the timing cord length and vertical placement of the cord on the cable. It's been a while ago so I don't remember exactly what we did that worked,but we did get it to work. I think the binary cams like for the rest to come vertical right at the very last1" or so of the draw cycle.
Sooner State Hunter is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:39 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
stikbow26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,241
Default RE: QAD issues

Yeh I have it so that it comes to vertical the last inch of draw!! Walt
stikbow26 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:52 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Centaur 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Titusville Florida
Posts: 1,727
Default RE: QAD issues

If i'm not mistaken it should drop sooner if you attach the cord higher up on the cable.
Centaur 1 is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 02:00 PM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 584
Default RE: QAD issues

Have you contacted QAD for some help? They're fairly good folks to ask for help. I'm not shooting a bowtech but I had to mess with my QAD shooting blazers so the vanes didn't hit the riser.
Grandviewer is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 10:29 PM
  #6  
Typical Buck
 
davs2601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Noble, Ok
Posts: 688
Default RE: QAD issues

I just fixed my qad today. The cord needed to be moved down the cable about 1/8th inch and she shoots great. I could see the back of my arrows flying high and to the right....well its cause the rest wasnt dropping till the fletchings would knock it down. Mess with the placement on your cable and it should resolve the issue.....if not pick up a hostage pro, I think that is what im going to do
davs2601 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 05:13 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
davepjr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Balt, MD (orig: J-town,PA) The bowels of Hell!!!
Posts: 2,188
Default RE: QAD issues

Always move the cord down the cable for the QAD to drop faster.
davepjr71 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:47 PM
  #8  
Nontypical Buck
 
BuckAlley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Altmar New York USA
Posts: 1,247
Default RE: QAD issues

Dave is 100% right, you must move the cable clamp down. I have the General, and mines down near the grip area. Also make sure you have the correct launcher arm on your QAD. You need the TL1 launcher arm. Its specifically designed for Binary cam bows.
If you done all this, and still got contact. My only other ideas are make sure the rest is moved as far forward to the bow shelf w/o actually contacting it as possible. That will give a little more time for vane clearance. You can also try rotating the arm mechanism a little, as long as it also doesn't contact the shelf when it drops.
Beyond that my only other thought is the higher profile blazer vanesbe the culprit.
BuckAlley is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 11:14 AM
  #9  
 
Capt. Mark Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location:
Posts: 80
Default RE: QAD issues

I coould never get my QAD to shoot without contact. Feathers, blazers-didn't matter. Two bow shops threw their white flags up also. Said screw it and went back to the WB. The QAD makes a nice paperweight on my computer desk now. Great idea, I just couldn't get it to work.
Capt. Mark Bennett is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 05:54 PM
  #10  
Nontypical Buck
 
BuckAlley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Altmar New York USA
Posts: 1,247
Default RE: QAD issues

Nice paper weight? If you know how to set it up, its one the best rests on the market. Obviously you, and the people who worked on it don't have a clue on this rest. In fact your the first I've ever read that couldn't get it to work! When your whiskers wear out, your groups widen, it freezes up from wintery conditions, and ruins your vanes. You might want to consider making the W.B. your newest paper weight!!
BuckAlley is offline  

Quick Reply: QAD issues


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.