Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Pin size...

Old 04-24-2008, 11:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Pin size...

I suppose, I thought the .029's were pretty nice, been shooting them for quite a few years, and many what an improvement over those OLD HUGE .040 things. Well, I started shooting spots a week or so ago, because I wanted something to motivate me to be more consistent, and create my own little personal competition against myself. But I realized my pins are just too BIG to expect extremely tight shooting, thus I ordered a new sight. Well, after many 48 and 49's, I slid a Sword Apex Hunter w/ .019 pins on my bow, made 3 adjustment and had it zero'd in (more luck than anything), and decided to shoot a couple ends. First end was a 48, second a 47 (I think I got cocky because I was so happy with the first end and wow those tiny little pins would seem like they are going to make a BIG difference. Next a 49, then a 50, with 3 "X-cutters." So now I'm thinking I want to get some .019 pins for my LX now. If any of you guys haven't shot the smaller pins, don't hold back too long, I shot a 1.5" 3 arrow group at 30yds!!! Ripped up a fletch, but "WOW," I never realized what I was missing.
Old 04-24-2008, 11:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Pin size...

I remember 5 years or so ago, I shot .040 or .060 plastic tru glow pins. I currently shoot .010 pins, and its a night and day difference from the .029's.
Old 04-25-2008, 07:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Yeah I just put a new HHA sight on new General this year and put the .19 pin on it. I love it!
Old 04-25-2008, 07:59 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've been thinking about getting .019's pins for deer hunting/target practice. I'm currently using Tru-Glo's Bright Sight Extreme with .029 pins.

What type of sight would you recommendto me that fits these requirements?

1. I want the .019's pins.