Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Rage Expandables >

Rage Expandables

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Rage Expandables

Old 04-22-2008, 07:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Rage Expandables

Does anyone know what the minimum recommended amount of kinetic energy is for whitetails with the rage expandables? Did some searching on their website but I couldn’t find anything…

Another question would be what type of arrow setup are you using with them and how do you feel it’s worked (adequate penetration etc.)?

Old 04-22-2008, 07:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Rage Expandables

Bro,
I have been shooting mechanicals for ten years and back in the day they did say that they needed more KE that a fixed blade. The number they used to give was 55-60 ft lbs of ke, most of todays set-ups are way more than enough, like I said I have shot mechanicals my entire bowhunting career and have had at least 60 ft lbs and have never had any problems, 95% of my shots have been pass throughs and the ones that didn't were on big hogs bit they still got the job done and the heads I use are chisel points with a 2 1/2" cut....As for arrows I have always shot carbons and like to put the 3gr per inchweight tubes in but the last two years I haven't had any tubes and they still work fine.
Old 04-22-2008, 07:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

what poundage are you shooting? I really wouldnt worrytoo much less youre shooting less than 40 or 50lbs....

I dont shoot them yet, but I'm 95% certain I'm going to try em out, have only used muzzys 100gr 3 blade to date.

I'm guessing the rage need less KE than other mechanicals, due to how they open...
Old 04-22-2008, 08:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

For arrow Arrow Kinetic Energy I'm getting anywhere from 51 - 53 Ft/lbs.

Old 04-23-2008, 03:19 AM
Nontypical Buck