Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bow Press

Old 04-11-2008, 07:17 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Bow Press

Well I am buyin a bow press and making a drawing board.

Because I am not a shop and like to dave some cash, what do you guys think of this press

http://www.prototechind.com/

Any negatives? I know it does not put any pressure on the riser and that is good, but has anyone used it? What do you think?
Old 04-11-2008, 07:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Bow Press

I've never used it before, but I would guess that trying to compress even 60 lb limbs would be very hard with that little screw mechanism. There is almost no leverage there and it could really give your hand a beating. Not sure, but thats what it looks like to me. If you don't think you will be using it very often, it may work for the occasional job.
Old 04-11-2008, 07:54 AM

I've got a better idea for ya Germ. Look into getting a limbbender. Bowtech dave took over making these for WWAG and its an awesome press. Heres the link. I did a mini-how to as well. http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2391841&mpage=1&key=press?

Old 04-11-2008, 08:20 AM

Forgot to mention. The other day I broken my entire bow down to grease the limb pockets. Anyway, I had my bow on my bench mounted press and had the cams, string, and cablesoff and went to let my bow down and itdidn't have enough travel for limbs to completely relax. I had to press it again and reinstall everything. I switched to this press. No problems.
Old 04-11-2008, 08:21 AM
Boone & Crockett

I like it, just sent dave an Email
Old 04-11-2008, 08:32 AM
Giant Nontypical

Some more thoughts on that particular press... http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2347251&mpage=1&key=bowmender&am p;#2347251
Old 04-11-2008, 08:40 AM

I think you'll love it. Definitely a great press for the money.
Old 04-11-2008, 08:43 AM