Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow building... >

Arrow building...

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow building...

Old 06-08-2007, 08:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Arrow building...

I know how to fletch my arrows and put nocks on them, however, I am fairly new at putting inserts in and cutting the arrows. I am in the market for getting some new arrows and will most likely get the Gold Tip XT 5575 arrows. What exactly do I need and need to do in order to cut the arrows? I have heard something about cutting off both ends of the shaft to get a more straight arrow? What do I need to use to put the inserts in and is there any special way to put them in to get a better flying arrow. Yes, I know all dumb questions, but this is all new to me. Thanks for the help!
Old 06-08-2007, 12:49 PM

Default RE: Arrow building...

I like the questions, as a newby to fletching myself and would like the feedback on building complete arrows as well.
Old 06-08-2007, 01:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

As I understand it cutting both ends is kind of a general rule of thumb as the "straightest part of the arrow" is in the middle. Before cutting any arrows I would recommend getting an arrow spinner. Spin the arrow you are going to cut and, if it is straight, then just trim equally from both ends to get your length. If one end is more bent than the othe or if just one end looks bent then just cut that end off. When I spin my arrows I place a 3x5 index card with the blue lines under each end and line up the shaft with one of the blue lines. That gives me an excellent visual reference as to the straightness.

You should make sure you square off both ends of the shaft before going any further whether you cut both ends or not.