Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Kisser Button

Old 03-11-2007, 01:45 PM

Default Kisser Button

Upon the advice of a pro shop rep, I decided to try a kisser button. The angle is a little severe on my shorter bows, but on the longer Hoyt it works great. More consistent anchor point. I did, however, do a before/after chronographing - this little button cost me 5 fps! It doesn't weigh much - must be a little air resistance thing on the string.
Old 03-11-2007, 01:56 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Kisser Button

I'm a firm believer in the kisser, the more referance points the better!
Old 03-11-2007, 04:14 PM

A kisser really takes that much speed away? I have a kisser along with a whisker bisquit on mine, since I just started shooting. How much does a bisquit take away?
Old 03-11-2007, 04:38 PM
Giant Nontypical

If you develop a good anchor,the kisser will cost you accuracy.Look how big they are.I can't believe a shop would ever reccomend one.
Old 03-11-2007, 04:49 PM

Kissers are a good thing. I wouldn't shoot without one. Same point of reference ever pull = accuracy. At a cost of 5fps....that is fine with me.
Old 03-11-2007, 08:00 PM

I think his explanation was centered around oneadditional point of reference. Eye looking down the center of the peep, string on the tip of the nose, thumb under the jaw with bone to bone contact, and the kisser button. Sounded like it might be overkill to me at the time, but it was an inexpensive and easily reversable try. On my shorter bows, for some reason, the increased angle of the string makes the kisser button feel awkward. On the Hoyt it is a keeper.
Old 03-11-2007, 08:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

The string should come across the corner of the mouth regardless if there is a kisser or not,the string is much smaller so there is less room for error without a kisser.