Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Help A newbie please >

Help A newbie please

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Help A newbie please

Old 10-31-2006, 09:30 AM
Fork Horn

Default Help A newbie please

My 1st year bowhunting. Well i have only been out once this year. I bought a pse nova and decided to try my hand at bow hunting this year. I have been try to perfect my shooting but am having a problem. At 20yards i feel very confident. Yesterday i started practicing at 30yards. Yesterday my grouping was good and i was feeling good about my shooting. Today, i am all over the place at 30 yards. I am having a big problem holding my bow on the target. I shot about 20 shots yesterday and would say only 3 would not have killed the deer. Today, i shot 12 shots and would say only 2 would have killed the deer for sure.
I think it's due to my arms getting tired and weak from all the pulling back of the bow. What do you guys think? am practicing to much?
Is this normal, how much should i practice. I really want to get out in the woods with this bow, but unless i get a shot at 20 yards or less right now, i would not be comfortable taking the shot. I would like to get comfortable shooting at up to 35 - 40 yards.

Old 10-31-2006, 09:53 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Help A newbie please

It sure couldbe target fatigue. You could be torqing (sp)your bow as well. You want to be able to put 100% of your practice shots in the vitals. Even 90% isn't good enough. Until you can hit what you are aiming at 100% of the time, don't take the shot at an animal.

I know lots of people that will not shoot over 20 yards...
Old 10-31-2006, 10:05 AM
Giant Nontypical