Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Newbie question

Old 04-05-2006, 04:10 PM

Default Newbie question

I'm new to bowhunting so i was wondering if someone could help me out. I have a Hoyt Ultrasport and the draw weight is set at 52. If i increase it to say 55 or 60 is that gonna effect arrow placement or anything? Or should i just leave it at 52? In another words, does increasing the draw weight effect any other parts of the bow?
Old 04-05-2006, 04:11 PM

Default RE: Newbie question

Yes,it will more than likely affect impact point,but more importantly it may affect the spine of your arrow and ultimately the tune of the bow.Doing soshould also shorten your brace height,which may or may not be a problem depending on your form.WELCOME by the way
Old 04-05-2006, 04:46 PM

Precisely what newman said. Yes, it will affect things, but if you are still going to be spined ok, you can adjust your sights and correct most everything else.
Old 04-05-2006, 06:29 PM

cool. thanks for the info.
Old 04-05-2006, 07:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

You have the answer to your question. Now some advice. You are new, right? Leave the bow wher it is for now and just learn how to shoot it well. This is easier with the weight turned down. There is nothing more frustrating for a new shooter than trying to learn to shoot when he's struggling with the bow.

You have all summer to work up to a higher weight. As for possible retuning? It should only take a few hours at most.
Old 04-09-2006, 02:08 AM
Nontypical Buck