Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Target Archery
 How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament? >

How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Target Archery Paper, foam or video screens, all things related to target archery. (Please use the IBO forum for IBO related posts)

How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Old 03-07-2008, 01:09 PM
  #1  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
GMMAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 21,043
Default How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

I JUST got the call my new bow is in......Bowtech Constitution.

I think I'm gonna set it up, tonight.......shoot it tomorrow....and shoot in the 3D tournament with it on Sunday.

Am I nuts?
GMMAT is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 01:16 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
MGH_PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cogan Station, PA
Posts: 2,298
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Nope, have fun with it. If it was a leg in the IBO triple crown, I would say no Make it a fun "test" for you. See if you can do it all and be ready for Sunday, AND beat your PR Seriously, sometimes setting what seems to be an outlandish goal can be the best driving force.
MGH_PA is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 01:18 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
BGfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Middletown PA United States
Posts: 3,625
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Seriously? About two hours to set up and sight in for 20 yards. Maybe another hour to sight in out to 80 yards. Not perfect, but pretty close.
BGfisher is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 01:20 PM
  #4  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
GMMAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 21,043
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Yeah but I'm worried about all the little intricacies.

Other thing is....my current bow has the rest and stabilizer I'm gonna put on thsi one.....and I KNOW it's dialed in. So....I'm messing up the one I know is right to hopefully get the next one right.

Gotta happen sometime......might as well be tomorrow.
GMMAT is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 02:39 PM
  #5  
Giant Nontypical
 
Matt / PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dover, PA USA
Posts: 5,497
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Chances are you'll be shooting about every weekend anyway so no better time like the present.
Seriously Barry is right it doesn't take long to get it dialed in. The tedious stuff is fitting the peep, nocksets and loop and then tuning. Thats all stuff you can do in the house in your basement at night though.

You'll be fairly dialed in to Hunter Class yardages in 1-2hrs tops. Then refine it the following weekend before the big one.

Heck back in 2003 I took a Bowtech Patriot out of the box at 1:30PM, set it up, sighted it in in my back yard in 1hr, showered, and then killed a big 6pt buck at 3:35PM.
Now THAT's turnaround.


Matt / PA is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 02:45 PM
  #6  
Giant Nontypical
 
TFOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HENDERSON KY USA
Posts: 6,634
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

I shot a tournament in open class and when I finished,I changed the sight,rest andarrows to a hunting setup and shot a tough man shoot which I won.[8D]
TFOX is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 07:03 PM
  #7  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
GMMAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 21,043
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

It's set except for a D-loop. If I had a 30yd stake tournament tomorrow....Id sight it in at the sight. The shoot tomorrow was a 40yd shoot....and I'll just stay here and get ready for Sunday.

Thans for the encouragement. I set this bow up by myself....with the assistance of my pro shop owner.

Felt great!
GMMAT is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 07:10 PM
  #8  
Giant Nontypical
 
TFOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HENDERSON KY USA
Posts: 6,634
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

If you had a ballistic program such as on target II,you could set pin gap tonight and when you got to the shoot,you could set your 40 and be dead on with all.I have done that kind of stuff alot.
TFOX is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 07:47 PM
  #9  
Nontypical Buck
 
buckmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,882
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

Jeff, rememeber last Sunday? I was out at one 1:00 am sat. night getting sighted only to redo almost everything sunday morning and shot my best ever
buckmaster is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:25 PM
  #10  
Typical Buck
 
RuttNutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 546
Default RE: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?

ORIGINAL: GMMAT

I JUST got the call my new bow is in......Bowtech Constitution.

I think I'm gonna set it up, tonight.......shoot it tomorrow....and shoot in the 3D tournament with it on Sunday.

Am I nuts?
Great question there doc.......yer da man.....
RuttNutt is offline  

Quick Reply: How fast have you set up a bow and shot in a tournament?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.