Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
German Wirehaired should I buy >

German Wirehaired should I buy

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

German Wirehaired should I buy

Old 05-22-2014, 09:51 AM
Spike

Default German Wirehaired should I buy

There is a beautiful GWP for sale near me for a fantastic price. The price reflects the fact that the owner took her out and introduced her to the gun by shooting over her. She is 2 years old and sounds like lacks training, she points in the field at everything but hasn't been trained to focus in on birds. I am new to owning a gun dog, have hunting with a few already trained. I can afford a month or two with a pro if I need to, but my wife says no to a puppy at this point. Do I take a chance on this one and see if she can be trained out of the gunshyness?
Thanks,
Old 05-22-2014, 03:21 PM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by jakemroyal
There is a beautiful GWP for sale near me for a fantastic price. The price reflects the fact that the owner took her out and introduced her to the gun by shooting over her. She is 2 years old and sounds like lacks training, she points in the field at everything but hasn't been trained to focus in on birds. I am new to owning a gun dog, have hunting with a few already trained. I can afford a month or two with a pro if I need to, but my wife says no to a puppy at this point. Do I take a chance on this one and see if she can be trained out of the gunshyness?
Thanks,
***It won't be easy if she's gunshy due to someone who didn't know what they were doing, but if she's out of good stock it can be done and I'd take the chance and have a pro work with her. The GWP breed is very smart and I'd bet she'll come around with someone who can spend some time with her and knows what they're doing.
Old 05-22-2014, 06:39 PM
Spike