Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Training collars

Old 11-13-2008, 08:16 PM

Default Training collars

Lost my hunting partner two weeks ago to complications of Lyme, 8 1/2 year old Ryman/Old Hemlock setter. Best friend ever had and can't replace him, but will be getting another pup this spring. Didn't put a lot of training into the first guy, never used a collar, but will probably pick one up for the pup. Any pref's on makes/models? Best age to begin electronic collar training? Would prefer the beeper collar combo as I hunt some pretty thick cover. Any info appreciated.
Old 11-14-2008, 06:17 AM

Default RE: Training collars

Hi there i have been using Tri Tronics collars for the last 5 years and have never had any problems they have all the options and are the best in the industry i currently have a pro 500, and a field 90 model one for each dog.
Old 11-14-2008, 01:24 PM

The Pro 500 isa nicetrainer but pretty pricey for my budget. [:'(]I'm sure the quality supports the cost. I was thinking around the $250 mark for atrainer and a hundred or so for the beeper.How many years can one expect from a battery? Also, what's the best age to begin using a trainer on a pup?
Old 11-15-2008, 08:04 AM

Yes the pro 500 hundred is a little pricey, but i think the field 70 or 90 is under $300, they are both very good to. I think the best time to start is at 6-9 months you dont want to start to early. Your dog should know its basic commands before you introduce the ecollar.
thanks David
Old 11-16-2008, 08:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

An ecollar is an investment for the life of your dog.
Spend the bucks and get the TriTronics Pro 500.

Old 11-24-2008, 03:09 PM

I have one from Lion Country Supply. Trainer, launcher and beeper combined. Its on sale for $149 right now. Another hunter had one on his dog and recommended it. I like it and have no complaints.
http://www.lcsupply.com/
Old 11-26-2008, 01:39 PM
JW
Super Moderator