Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 Stupid Mistake During Training >

Stupid Mistake During Training

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Stupid Mistake During Training

Old 08-21-2008, 10:59 AM
Typical Buck

Default Stupid Mistake During Training

I've been training my Springer Spaniel for 5 months now. He is a very fast learner and is starting to quarter the field.

Last night I made a stupid mistake while doing simple retrieving excercises. I have a bumper on a rope that I wind up to swing and throw underhand. After about three tosses, I wound up a little harder than usual and right before I releases Riley made an attempt toward the bumper and I hit the left side of his mouth. He is not as eager and is more shy to train. I learned a lesson the hard way and hopefully it is just temporary.

With my stupid mistake, I just want to let everyone know that you should consider the safety of your dog while training.
Old 09-18-2008, 09:08 AM
Spike

Default RE: Stupid Mistake During Training

Let me know if regroups because I'm expeiriencing the same thing right now w/ my 3 month old lab. He was a retrieving machine, but now won't go after anything. He still listens to other commands, just not the fetching/back commands.
Old 09-18-2008, 10:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Dukers19

Let me know if regroups because I'm expeiriencing the same thing right now w/ my 3 month old lab. He was a retrieving machine, but now won't go after anything. He still listens to other commands, just not the fetching/back commands.
It's because you are not following a training program.
S L O W D O W N Training a dog is not a race.
Get on a training program -- get on a training program -- get on a training program.

Old 09-18-2008, 10:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: sportsman22