Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 New to bird dog training...HELP >

New to bird dog training...HELP

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

New to bird dog training...HELP

Old 12-20-2007, 06:42 AM

Default New to bird dog training...HELP

I am new to upland hunting and dog training. I have a 8 week old well bred GSP. Im just looking for any tips or guidance to get the ball rolling in the right direction...Thanks guys!
Old 12-20-2007, 07:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to bird dog training...HELP

What training program are you planning to follow?

Old 12-20-2007, 07:45 AM

Not sure...That would be why I am asking for any advice or guidance...
Old 12-20-2007, 09:29 AM

ORIGINAL: MossyOak722

I am new to upland hunting and dog training. I have a 8 week old well bred GSP. Im just looking for any tips or guidance to get the ball rolling in the right direction...Thanks guys!

Well it sounds like you have put the cart in front of the horse - with that said I would start looking on-line for some good books on training a pointing dog.

Yep, its sounds pretty obvious doesnt it?.

I've read a couple BEFORE I got my pup and it gave me a good benchmark from which to start. I knew exactly how I wanted my dog to be trained. Its been over 5yrs since I picked one of thosebooks up.The titles and authors elude me at the moment - But I did buy all of them from Amazon,
Good Luck and keep us posted
Old 12-20-2007, 05:48 PM

Definately get a book or a DVD.
Talk to a trainer, join a club.

8 weeks, we want to let the dog be a puppy, your just potty training, interaction is good, building a bond. Let the pup sniff some bird wings, see if it points. No yard work yet though. Start playing with him, teaching things like "Here", "sit", "NO", no biting, manners, etc.