Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 trying to train dog, need suggestions >

trying to train dog, need suggestions

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

trying to train dog, need suggestions

Old 02-01-2006, 04:20 PM

Default trying to train dog, need suggestions

hello,
i am actually new to this post but to make a long story short, i have a Vizula puppy about, probably almost a year old. I have heard that these dogs are natural hunting/retrieval dogs. Everytime i mention the type of dog i have, people tell me they are great for hunting. She is a beautiful puppywho loves the outdoors already - so i think that hunting is perfect for her.My prime interest is hunting deer and turkey, but i have hunting waterfowl and hope to hunt upland birds. Basically, how do i start to train my dog to hunt with me in the field? Is it too late b/c of her age? do i need to actually take her to a trainer now? Cani do it totally myself? or can i start teaching her the basics until i get a trainer? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot. Brent G
Old 02-01-2006, 04:52 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: trying to train dog, need suggestions

You can get some books and videos to help you train your dog. It is not to late. The first thing I would do is start with basic obedience. Sit, here, heel, etc.
I would start exposing the dog to wild birds, I believe a Vizla is a pointing breed, you can have some big fun just taking the dog for walks in bird country, don't know where you are from.
Go to versatiledogs.com and do a search for training books, videos, vizla's as keywords. Lurk and read the threads in the training sections and the rest of the site. It can be an "abrasive" site, but just take it or leave it, ask questions if you want, but just remember that dogs and training seem to bring out all opinions and attitudes, but you can learn a lot from it.