Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > South
New to hunting at Fort Stewart >

New to hunting at Fort Stewart

South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

New to hunting at Fort Stewart

Old 10-13-2009, 12:53 PM
Spike

Default New to hunting at Fort Stewart

Actually, let me be honest, I have never hunted. I have been shooting for over 25 years, but never had the opportunity to hunt. I have shot rifle and pistol (both civilian and military) with decent accuracy, but never at anything other than a paper target or soda can. After a conversation with my father in law last week, he loaned me a Remington Sportsman 74 in 30-06 and told me to return it after deer season. I'm looking for some pointers on everything from loads to camo to technique, but I am also looking for someone willing to spend some time with a newbie. My wife will be leaving for basic training in November and I will have a lot of free time to hunt.

Let me make it clear, I know nothing about hunting and/or game prep, but I want to learn. Any willing teachers?

Scott
Old 10-17-2009, 10:39 AM
Fork Horn

removed by RD

Last edited by Ron Duval; 01-18-2010 at 09:45 AM.
Old 10-17-2009, 11:21 PM
Dominant Buck

I was also stationed at Fort Stewart...I'd like to hunt there as well but when I read the rules..I gave up..The place looks very difficult to unless someone who knows the riules can help you out. There are alot of snakes there..

here are some things I've learned over the years..hunting on public property..

!. Get away from the place where the other guys ae parked..Game can be pretty much found everywhere..

2. They need to eat..hog and deer love acorns.find some acorn trees { Oak trees} or land that borders a farm.

3.Deer love thick swampy areas the best..the folage is short and thick so they get sun ...the water is there..and they can hear their prey coming whch gives them time to book..I mostly hunt areas like this.INSIDE of bayheads..