NOVA Second Rut?? >

NOVA Second Rut??

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

NOVA Second Rut??

Old 12-03-2008, 08:02 PM
Typical Buck

Default NOVA Second Rut??

Anyone had any experiences with it? Good or bad? I've been told by a few experienced hunters in the Northern Virginia area (this is my first year bowhunting NOVA)that it has the potential to explode like the first rutseeing how the overwhelmingpopulation of does (yearlings and mature) more than likely outnumber the bucks and they simply don't stay in estrous long enough for bucks to service them all. Just looking for thoughts/opinions here guys and gals.If it is anything like the rut I experienced this November in NOVA we're in for a good time.

Three days in a rowin the middle of November I sat all day and saw more bucks thanI could count on two hands each day. I arrowed another nice 3.5yo8 pt around Noon on one of those days and passed on several 2.5's and 1.5's. The entrance wound isnot visible in this photo. He was quartering away from me pretty good. I placed the arrow a little further back than I would have liked tobut the arrowquarteredall the way through him and buriedinto his his off side shoulder. He didn't go 20 feet from where I shot him.Needless to say, I've been hunting more and posting less since the beginning of November and probably will continue to do so until January 3rd. Hope everyone is having a good season so far....good luck to all.

Old 12-04-2008, 07:54 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: NOVA Second Rut??

it does have the potential to get crazy yes!, but this years rut in NOVA is nothing like it has been in years past. It seems very stretched out which seems to happen once every four years.

But on the whole it can be a good second rut. The bucks are still in the mood, I got a decent one saturday that I kept in the area by grunting at him like i was chasing a doe. When a doe came in he followed her the rest of the way.