Florida rut??? >

Florida rut???

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

Florida rut???

Old 12-13-2005, 06:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Florida rut???

when exactly is the florida rut and what's the best way to hunt it. this is my first year deer hunting in florida. i know it comes usually about january or late december. how do ya'll hunt it. i've heard that rattling doesn't usually work in the south so..... any help would be appreciated.
Old 12-13-2005, 07:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Florida rut???

i'm not big on rattling, but it has worked for me in the past. as far as the rut goes, it's at different times throughout the state. i believe the rut is over here in the central part of the state. when i shot by buck this last november, he was chasing doe's...but i think it was a post rut. his neck wasn't swollen but his tarsal's were jet black and stunk. he was also still hit'n scrapes on a regular basis. below is a picture of that buck with me and my dad..

Old 12-14-2005, 12:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

that's a nice looking buck!!!! where'd you get him??? looks like ocala.
Old 12-14-2005, 01:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

not ocala my friend, if we hunt together i'll tell ya...but for right now, if i told ya i'd have to kill ya.....lol

naw, i don't wanna say on here because everyone local will be putting in for this area next year.
Old 12-14-2005, 02:31 PM
Dominant Buck

Hey nice buck Cop! Congrat's!

HA! HA!Looks like Three Lakes or Lake Wales!
Old 12-14-2005, 03:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Nice buck.It sure isn't my area.
Old 12-14-2005, 08:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: CamoCop

not ocala my friend, if we hunt together i'll tell ya...but for right now, if i told ya i'd have to kill ya.....lol

naw, i don't wanna say on here because everyone local will be putting in for this area next year.