Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

How do you clean squirrles?

Old 01-14-2004, 04:02 PM

Default How do you clean squirrles?

The question is as basic as the title. How do you clean out a squirrel for eating. I have never done it before so i was wondering if there was some special way to do it or not.
Old 01-14-2004, 05:19 PM

Default RE: How do you clean squirrles?

i cut a patch of hair off the middle of the back about 3 in by 1 in then cut through the skin get your fingers in between the slit and pull it a part. when you pull the fur up to the joints of the feet cut the feet off and the tail then turn it around (i have this bord on a tree with a nail stikking out of it so i can hage the squirrle on it) then hang em by the feet in the front of there body then pull the fur up to the joints of the other feet and with one hand grab on to the thighs and cut up and pull the guts out. then cut the head off and feet off then you got to clean em in the sink in the back legs make a small cut were the claf and thigh come togther behind the knee theres this small white tenden like thing pull it out it tastes bad. then cut the meat and bone were the shoulders and hips meet and cut the back in half.thats it , it doesnt really take that long once you get use to it
Old 01-14-2004, 06:38 PM

another thing you could do is cut arond the feet and make a slit on the tail then just pull down on the tail and it takes most if not all the skin right over head then all you have to do is cut off the feet and head...simple as that
Old 01-15-2004, 01:26 AM
Giant Nontypical

I couldnt tell you on this one. I never been brave enough to eat one lol [X(]
Old 01-15-2004, 04:12 AM

I do it like deerslayer , with one exception.

I put them into a bucket full of water first.this helps the hair from sticking to the meat.