Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

squirels?

Old 01-04-2004, 03:29 PM

Default squirels?

I am new to small game hunting i mostly deer hunted and was hearing that people are eating squirels and was wondering what kind of squirels you ate. I live in maine and all i know about is the red and grey squirels. Is there a different kind or do you eat one of them? Any information will be a help i dont really want to eat the wrong thing lol.
Old 01-04-2004, 04:58 PM

Default andy_o

If your choice of squirrels is between the Red (pine squirrel) and the eastern grey. The choice is simple, go for the grey's. Not only are they bigger, they taste a whole lot better. Good luck hunting and be safe

coyote Caller
Old 01-05-2004, 11:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: andy_o

Coyote caller is confused as reds are about 1.5 times the size of any grey. I havent noticed a difrence in taste between greys or reds and eat both varieties. Just shoot them in the head with your 22lr and stick them in a frying pan, good stuff!
Old 01-05-2004, 02:13 PM

Default I don't think so!!!

Treedog:
I will disagree with you this time. The red or pine squirrel is NOT 1.5 times bigger than the grey squirrel. Look it up. The red squirrel or pine squirrel which favor pine forest, and feed heavily on pine seeds is the smallest of the tree squirrels. The scientific name for the pine squirrel is (TAMIASCIURUS HUDSONICUS) it is a northern squirrel ranging from Alaska through canada, and a lot of the north eastern and mid-western states. Maine and Michigan are two of the states with a large population of red squirrels. I am from Michigan and I can personally tell you the red squirrel is not bigger. You might be thinking of the fox squirrel. which has a reddish brown coloration and a lot of people call a red squirrel. The fox squirrel IS 1.5 times bigger than the grey.