Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Home Squirrel Pest Control

Old 03-18-2022, 09:57 AM
Spike

Default Home Squirrel Pest Control

Home Pest Squirrel Control

I am a retired wildlife biologist and these are some of my thoughts and experiences in dealing with pest squirrels in the house and around the yard.

Although most cases I have investigated involved agricultural crop and other property damage caused by deer and feral hogs, pesky squirrels certainly cause their share of damage.

Squirrels are notorious for getting into the attic/wall of a home. In addition they often cause many other issues at a residence.

Concerning squirrels in the attic or wall:

I've been to many houses in which various scent deterrents and ultrasonic sound deterrent devices have been used, and none of them help at all, because a squirrel's survival/nesting instinct is so strong that it won't leave the attic just because of scent and ultrasonic devices. Let’s face it, by the time you even think about scent or sound deterrents the squirrels are already homesteaded in your house. Scent and ultrasonic sound devices simply don't work effectively as a deterrent. I have seen literally a dozen or more scent deterrents used by home owners or suggested because they read about it on the internet. I have observed that squirrels usually always stay near the edge of the attic anyway, near a well-ventilated soffit, and the scent odors just don't help because of this. In addition the entire attic is too well ventilated using ridge vents, attic fans, gable vents, and other ventilation. I have even seen the very cotton balls soaked with the deterrent scent incorporated into the nest in the attic. Research has confirmed the ineffectiveness of scent deterrents and ultrasonic devices.