Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

New to hunting, a couple questions

Old 12-12-2012, 12:22 AM
Spike

Default New to hunting, a couple questions

Hi all.

As the title states I am new to hunting but am very interested in learning. Unfortunately I do not know anyone that I know of that hunts so I come bearing a few questions.

I have done some reading online and other than the basic safety course a lot of advice I have seen for new hunters is to start with small game. That is fine with me as I also love to cook and am interested in trying new meats. Eventually I would like to get into Deer and possibly Hog hunting, but as I said everything I have read says start small and work up.

My main question is in regards to firearm, I know that eventually when I get to the bigger game I would like to use a shotgun but was curious if it would be a good decision to start with that for small game, or if I should invest in a .22 rifle and then get the shotgun. Also if a shotgun is recommended what gauge would you recommend? Was thinking 20 ga maybe with bird shot for small game but am unsure and any help in that area would be appreciated.

Also in addition to the class and choosing a firearm what is a good way to get into small game hunting? As I said I don't know of anyone that I know who is a hunter ( could be but just quiet about it ). I know that experience is the main teacher but is there any experience to be gained by reading up before I set out?

Thanks for your help,

Derek
Old 12-12-2012, 03:00 AM
Spike