Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Fur Info Needed

Old 01-28-2010, 10:31 AM
Fork Horn

Question Fur Info Needed

I am new to the whole trapping thing and need some information for New York. Is there somewheres where i can find prices for fur. Also if someone wants to give me some good ideas for bait and some different trap setups for the winter months with snow, i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for your time.
Old 01-28-2010, 11:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

what are you trapping?
Old 01-28-2010, 12:06 PM
Fork Horn

Well pretty much anything really. I would like to get a few coyotes and i know there are a few minks running around that i would like to get. Foxes will do too.
Old 01-29-2010, 04:55 PM
Fork Horn

Ok, I'm not the best at trapping but I might could help you a bit. If your going for coyotes your best bet is to run snares along trails, snares arent hard to trap just set a loop about 8inches in dia. and about a foot off the ground.

Now, for foxes I'd just make a simple dirt hole; when I make a dirt hole I dig a hole about 5-6 in. deep at about 65 degree angle, when baiting make sure you can use animal parts if so you can get bird feathers and throw around the hole and toss a couple of birds down in the hole and put a couple of peices of dead grass over the hole; now for the trap I use a Duke 1 3/4 for everything, A dirthole set is meant to replicate where an
animal such as a fox or coyote has cached some food to eat later, and these natural dirtholes can be
all shapes and sizes. To be effective, the dirt hole set should be made where the animal will likely
travel close by. A good location can usually be determined by the presence of sign such as tracks
and especially droppings. The best made dirt hole set will catch nothing if its in a location where the