Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Few questions about hunting..

Old 08-03-2009, 04:41 AM
Spike

Default Few questions about hunting..

I have a couple of questions.

First off I own a Gamo big cat 1200 (air rifle) and I'm a complete novice.

1) Does anyone know of any good general spots to hunt? I went into a woody area and couldn't find a SINGLE squirrel, bird or rabbit (later on this). I live in south NJ so if anyone knows of some good spots hook me up.

2) Is it wrong to hunt small game (such as the critters I mentioned above) if you only hunt to kill but not to eat? I shot and killed a bird earlier today and after I killed it I felt a little remorse. My mom (in all seriousness) told me that it's sinfull (if you don't plan on eating it).

3. I'm planning on getting a red dot because I'm having an impossible time with the scope that came with my gamo big cat 1200. I can't sight it (zero it in) for the life of me. No matter how much I turn the vertical and wind turrets for some reason the point of entry is ALWAYS towards the left. Would it benefit me at all to get say a 30 dollar red dot from dicks?

4) When I shot the bird earlier I was using premier hollow point hunting pellets and the first shot went through the middle of the bird (I'm assuming chest) and it started to fly but it crashed down about 20 feet away. When I went to go inspect it was still breathing so I shot it in the head to kill it. Why did it take 2 shots? Aren't these pellets and the gun I own suppose to do one shot kills? Than later I saw a rabbit and I'm pretty sure I shot it because I saw it jump (or maybe I didn't?) when I went closer it was just breathing really hard and was scared. I shot it again from maybe 6 feet and I dont think I missed but it just ran away, seriously wtf?

Anyways, thats all I can think of right now. Sorry for sounding dumb.
Today, 03:52 AM