Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Decoys for yotes?

Old 01-11-2007, 08:14 PM

Default Decoys for yotes?

I am a college education student taking a middle years science methods course and am required to prepare a science experiment of some type for a science fair. I was interested in buying 4 or 5 color, types of stuffed animals and placing them on fishing line and moving them in the field while giving a distress call. I would capture all of this on video and determine which colors, styles of stuffed toys seemed to work the best at drawing coyotes in. My friend, who i yote hunt with, claims he has seen guys use stuffed toys b4 to bring in yotes but i am a bit skeptical. Will this experiment fly or am i wasting my time and go to something else. I wanted something really unique, hunting related, and to have the most redneck display of anyone. I have till the end of the month to get this completed so i need to get crackin if this will work. We are experiencing a real cold snap at the moment -30-40 but as soon as it warms up a bit i am sure the yotes will be starving for sometineg. Any feedback on the idea or suggestions are welcome. I know it is a weird idea for a science experiement but thats kind of my point.
Old 01-11-2007, 08:27 PM

Default RE: Decoys for yotes?

I have heard of it working well....but never tried it myself
Old 01-11-2007, 09:34 PM
Fork Horn